Old and new milling roll
„We do not only offer a fascinating insight into the old roll trade, we also offer the opportunity to travel to the history of our region. About the origin of the industry and what is still left of it today. Living history!”
The first boom of Eberswalde started around 1750. The electors of Brandenburg settled Swiss families and later also smiths specializing in blades and scissors from Ruhla and Solingen. The wire hammer lock, brass factory and also iron splitting factory located in the Family-Garden were built at this time.
Old milling roll („Blechenhaus“)
According to the English model, the iron milling roll with its classical facade was built from 1816 - 1818. The painter Carl Blechen also found a model here for his painting „milling roll Neustadt Eberswalde“. Therefore, the old milling roll is also named Blechenhaus. It is one of the earliest illustrations of industry in the German art history. Today, the metal sculptor Eckhard Herrman has his studio there which is also open to visitors.
New milling roll
The large flywheel of the steam engine is preserved in the adjacent new milling roll which was built at the end of the 19th century and can be viewed there. In addition, the pedal car course is located there. A pedal boat trip on the underground water supply canals and outdoor canal is recommended.
Learn about the fascinating industrial history of these historic buildings and experience yourself the interesting history of our region!
Further information on the industrial culture in the Finow valley is available at: www.tourismus-eberswalde.de